2 Months in

Alessia is 2 Months old Today!

Where has the time gone?


I absolutely love being her mum! Every morning we wake up to her gorgeous little smile. 

Our days are very different lately and we wouldn’t change them for the world! Yesterday my daughter shit on me….. TWICE before 7am! Today I have been up since 6am, I’ve cleaned my house from top to bottom, showered, put some make up on, bathed Alessia, folded the clothes & done 2 loads of washing. 

Alessia is still napping, she has been down since 10:30am so I decided to take a moment to write a quick blog post.


Thankfully this kid lovesssss sleep! Because we do too, I am that mum that naps when my baby does. I sleep from 2-4pm most afternoons. 🙌🏼 

Alessia doesn’t really have a routine, but she has sort of fallen into a pattern all on her own. Adam works in the afternoon/evening and gets home at roughly 11pm, 9 out of 10 nights Alessia is still awake when he gets home. He will have a quick shower then enjoy a snuggly cuddle with her before she feeds and goes to sleep. She will sleep between 4-5 hours , then wake to feed and go straight back to sleep for another 3-4 hours, feed again and have another 1 hour sleep. 

The last week or so we have been putting her in her cot instead of the bassinet and she is absolutely loving it! She has lots of room to spread her arms out. 


We follow a wake, feed, play, sleep once she is awake in the morning. 


Alessia loves her toys and stares at her hanging ones in the car. She loves her play mat and will kick and make noises and smile. 

I’m still exclusively breastfeeding Alessia, we are both loving it! She is thriving and I’m enjoying the bond I get to share with her when feeding. It’s such a beautiful feeling to know my baby is getting everything she needs from my body. 

We have trialled bottles but she doesn’t take them as doesn’t quite understand how to feed from them. She also hates a dummy and will gag when it’s anywhere near her mouth. She has taken a dummy on a few occasions when she was a little younger but now refuses it. She is a very content baby who really doesn’t need one so we aren’t worried by it. If anything I’m glad she doesn’t take one as it means I don’t have to worry about getting rid of it when she is older. 
I’ve had people tell me that I should be offering Alessia a bottle of formula at night, I have trialled this on a number of occasions and it’s been a big fail as she wears more than she drinks and it hurt her tummy so we gave up trying and will revisit the bottle again with different formula soon. 

There are those that I happily take advise from and those that need to shut the f*ck up when it comes to these things. 

If you haven’t exclusively breastfed  your baby then please don’t tell me how I should be feeding my child! I don’t tell mothers who exclusively formula bottle feed their babies what to do so why is it ok for them to tell me what I should be doing?!? 

I have no issue with how people choose to feed their children and have always said that Fed is Best! So I don’t understand why other new mums feel the need to comment on what will “settle” my child or help her sleep better! 

Alessia has never been an unsettled baby. She rarely cries, naps 3-4 times a day. Wakes once through the night and shits like a trooper… so why does she need formula? 

I wouldn’t dare suggest to a mother of a bottle fed baby that they offer their baby their boob to comfort them at night so why is it any different for them to tell me to give her a bottle? 

The only person impacted by Alessia not taking a bottle is me! I am happy to breastfeed on demand and don’t need her to be looked after by someone else, I am on paid leave until October so for the moment bottles are certainly no issue in this house, plus my bench stays nice and clear! 

When Alessia starts sleeping through the night then I will happily offer her a bottle and drop her off at one of her grandparents house for a sleepover but for the moment we haven’t felt the need to have a “night off”. We have a beautiful, happy baby who sleeps well, I vacuumed her room this morning whilst she was in her cot and just the other day she slept through my hairdresser appointment including a blow wave without a peep so I don’t feel like I need a break from her as she doesn’t stop me from doing anything. If anything, we do more with a baby than we did as a couple. 

We still make time for us, when Alessia goes down we make time for long chats, cuddles, kisses and intimacy. We talk everyday about things other than Alessia because as much as she is our world, there are other things to talk about than poo and playtime.

I don’t understand how people say that once you have kids your sex life disappears… Bullshit! If you want it, you make time for it! Keeping your relationship with your partner is so important! We have been together for 13 years now and still can’t keep our hands off each other. Kids can’t change that.

Each day I shower, put on some make up, fix my hair and make myself feel good, I dont do these things for my husband or anyone but myself. Truth be told my husband prefers when I don’t wear make up. During this time Adam has cuddles and daddy / daughter playtime with Alessia and this is my “me time”. I also try and eat good food and exercise to help me continue to lose weight. I have been walking when I can and I am already lighter than my pre baby weight but I am heavier than I would like to be and so I am actively doing something about it.

When I was younger I walked to stay fit. I forgot how much I enjoy a nice brisk walk. If its not raining or stinking hot I will put Alessia in the pram, put together a playlist and walk to the supermarket (4km/1 hour round trip walk). 

Yes I have stretch marks and my boobs will never be the same, but this body made a baby! I am so proud of what my body has achieved and I will never take my ability to carry a child for granted. No number on a scale or tag of clothing will make me happier than I am when I look into my babies eyes… 


I’m gonna wrap this post up here as Alessia is waking up from her second nap and I can’t wait to smooch her and snuggle her. 

I will aim to post more during the week about Alessia’s development, she is changing every single day. 

Here are some photos from the last few weeks… 



2 Months in

2 thoughts on “2 Months in

  1. She is just a cutie 🙂 I bottle feed and the amount of people who tell me “you know breast is better right?” is ridiculous :-/ who gives a rats arse as long as they are fed! Breast or Formula or a mix if both, no ones business really.

    Agreed on the sex life thing, almost like an extra challenge, like we are teenagers sneaking around 😂

    My boy is almost 3 months!! It is going so fast.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I fully support a woman’s decision to feed their baby how they wish and all I ask is the same courtesy yet for some silly reason they feel like they can give me advice but not take it…. hmm!
      It certainly is a challenge, and definitely getting creative haha I can’t believe how quickly the time is going

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

