Soaking it all in

It’s a little after 10:30pm, I just had a shower to freshen up before bed, is there anything better than feeling fresh and hopping into fresh sheets? 

As I sat watching sex and the city I decided to write a short blog as Adam has fallen asleep after a big day, allowing me to enjoy a 3 hour nap this afternoon, cleaning up the house and doing the washing 🙌🏼 – Thank You Husband! I appreciate everything you do my love.

As my two favourite people in this world, my husband and my daughter lay peacefully sleeping in the lounge, I couldn’t help but stare at the two of them and soak in this moment. To remember how lucky I am to share my world with them, to care for them, love them and have them love me back. 

Alessia loves her sleep and is so snuggly so I decided to pick her up and have sleepy cuddles with her as I write this. Planting soft kisses on her hands and head between sentences. Our baby girl is almost a month old and growing so fast that I make sure I treasure every cuddle, every little milestone. I made a decision before she was born that whilst Alessia is awake, I will not use my phone for anything other than important calls / text. No social media (except a quick snapchat) as I don’t want to ignore my baby for my phone. I don’t want Alessia to grow up thinking that it’s acceptable to put technology before interactions with those around us. 

My blog buddy tonight

Alessia is starting to smile and reach little milestones , it’s so amazing to watch her grow and develop each and every day. 

Our little pork chop is growing so much! Last week we visited the maternal health nurse, Alessia is gaining weight like a trooper, at her last weigh in she had gained 420g in just 8 days 🙊, we are visiting again next week and will no doubt see another big jump in growth. Alessia was measured in the hospital as 49cm long however the maternal health nurse advised she is actually 53cm long and will be tall as a teen/adult. 

We have booked Playgroup which starts in March, very excited to meet other mums with bubs of a similar age and share our experiences and meet new people. 

Adam is home from work for another 2 weeks and we are planning some day trips to make the most of this time together. In the last month we have mostly just been to our parents houses and shopping centres but also visited King Lake & Portarlington (Mussel Festival) 

Portarlington on the weekend

I love having Adam home from work and will definitely miss him when he goes back in a few weeks, I know how lucky we are that he was able to take 6 weeks off and allow him to not only enjoy his newborn daughter but also rest during Alessia’s newborn stage. 

Alessia is a great baby, so content and calm. The only hard part is the broken sleep (3-4 hours). We are adjusting and coping well with naps every few days to do a little catch up. Nothing prepares you for how tired you will be! Nothing! 

I’ll post more soon about adjusting to Motherhood and I’ll eventually get around to our delivery experience in the coming weeks. 

My priorities are our baby and my husband, my blog (and the housework) can wait. We have a beautiful relationship and are keeping the spark alive by making time for us. We might be ‘Mum & Dad’ now but we were a couple well before we were parents…. we are a team and always will be, I see so many women neglect their relationship when they have kids and I always promised myself and Adam that I wouldn’t let that happen to us. Anyway, that’s a whole other post lol 

I’m gonna leave this one here and soak up cuddles with my baby girl and smell her beautiful head. She will wake soon for a feed then we will all go to bed and prepare for another day.

Here are a few images of our baby girl 

Soaking it all in

3 thoughts on “Soaking it all in

  1. I agree on the relationship stuff. I want to make sure that Adam and I (my hubby’s name is also Adam) maintain our marriage. It is what is best for our son anyway! We want to demonstrate what a good partnership and marriage looks like. I want my son to grow up and be the kind of husband that parents of daughters pray for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! I believe the greatest gift a father can give his daughter is to show her how much he loves her mum.
      I loved him first, I know so many people that put their kids before their husbands completely and now they’re all grown up and they’re like strangers as they don’t know each other anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely! That is why I am continuing with my hobbies. My husband will enjoy the time with bub and I will go to my dance class. My son will know that whilst I am his mum and would move heaven and earth so he could be happy, I am also my own person with interests.

        My mum did that and now we have things to talk about now that I am grown up! I love hearing her joy and passion when she talks about her quilting etc

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

