No Complaints

As we near the pointy end of pregnancy and things get harder (walking, breathing,getting out of bed, wiping myself- just to name a few) I am trying to stay positive and not complain about the pains and struggles. 

Even when my hips are aching and I have been awake half the night with heartburn I am reminded that I only have a few weeks left. Adam put things into perspective for me when I struggled to walk from the car park to pathology today for my weekly bloods when he said “babe, this may be our only baby, we have been so blessed to fall pregnant with her, please try and enjoy it. I know you’re in pain but it’s almost over.” 

And it is the truth, we overcome so many hurdles to get here and are so lucky to have conceived naturally. I don’t want to spend the last few weeks complaining as this is what we have been waiting for. In early pregnancy when I started vomiting Adam would laugh at me every morning! And I loved that he did, it would make me laugh and remind me just how lucky we are. 

I’m not gonna lie, as much as I have loved being pregnant – I have copped my share of shit weeks. I projectile vomited every morning for 25 weeks straight, I have had hives that covered my body and heartburn that is so intense I cannot even describe! But I haven’t “whinged”, I have embraced it, as it means there is a strong and healthy life growing inside of me. 

Today’s bump selfie

Soon enough my morning sickness will be nothing but a distant memory, something that I will remember when I reflect through my pregnancy journal. Quickeze will no longer be my bestie and I will eventually be able to sleep on my tummy again 🙌🏼. 

Before falling pregnant I would hear/read about pregnant women complaining that they’re sore and tired and “over it” and part of me wanted to rip their hair out and say “there are women (like me) who would love to be in your position, you have no idea how lucky you are!” It is because I know of so many still struggling that I want to keep positive, embrace the aches and pains as they’re all part of it. 

And should I not be able to conceive another baby I will be able to look back on this time with a smile, knowing that I enjoyed pregnancy and reflect on just how lucky I am to have experienced it. Never taking it for granted.

Our struggles have opened our eyes to so much, and blogging about our journey has meant that so many women have contacted me to share their secret struggles. And it’s for these women that I don’t want to complain, not even to my husband or my mum. Because they’re the ones who would do anything to be in my position. I know what it’s like to be on the other side praying and wishing. 

To all the expectant mummas reading this – next time you post that you’re not coping in the heat, or have to sit through a 2 hour glucose test – remember the women spending their days hiding their pain as they struggle to conceive. You never know who is reading… Please be grateful for your fertility. It truly is something that so many take for granted. 

Sending love and strength to all the parents in waiting, I know it’s hard to keep up the fight but believe me when I say it’s all worth it – don’t give up! Miracles definitely do happen – our baby girl is proof of that. 

My next blog post will likely be announcing the arrival of our daughter, I want to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of you for all of the love and support that you have provided to us over the last 2.5 years. It’s positive vibes and love that kept us going. 

So until her grand arrival we are going to enjoy our last few weeks as a couple, embracing every moment. 

Much Love x 

No Complaints

One thought on “No Complaints

  1. Love this post. I also tried not to complain but it was hard yes. And the truth is it is but a distant memory. Days are now filled with laughter and smiles and just something new. Have a great Christmas. This will be my first as a mum and I’m super excited. And I’ll be looking out for the next post where we get to see your little one. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

