Only just the beginning…

I am currently 3 weeks and 1 day post op (Laparoscopy, Hysteroscopy, D&C). I have healed well and physically feeling great. 

4 weeks ago, Adam and I underwent blood tests – a lot of them! 

Well, the results are in….. And what we thought was a long hard road already travelled to get to where we are just got a whole lot longer, and a whole lot harder.

After calling every day to my gynaecologists office for answers, he finally called me back. I could tell from the tone of his voice that he was not delivering happy news. Our worst fears were confirmed 😔 Triple Threat of Immune/Genetic issues. 

I have mentioned in a previous post that I have been diagnosed with Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. I thought that was bad enough, ohh how wrong I was! 

I have NK Cells , MTHFR Mutation Gene , Adam & I are also a DQ Alpha Gene Match – BOOM! Goodbye 2% chance of natural conception! Hello LIT treatments, Steroids, Blood Thinners, Intrepalids. 

Our IVF Journey until this point has been a fucking breeze compared to what we are about to face. 

At this point, I feel so deflated. Defeated almost. But I need to pick myself up and carry on. 

With Mothers Day only 2 days away, it is only yet another reminder of the difficulties we face. Needless to say, I am thankful we are working. 

We are both very anxious to speak to Dr Lolatgis, to better understand our chances of success. In the meantime there will be a lot of research! 

I have just purchased Dr Alan Beer’s Book – Is your body baby friendly, I am excited to read it and learn more about what lies ahead for us. 

As they say, what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger! 

Until Next Time 

Only just the beginning…

3 thoughts on “Only just the beginning…

  1. I just stumbled across your blog today and felt compelled to leave a reply in an attempt to leave you with some hope. My husband and I had been ttc for 3 years. We were lucky enough to be referred to Dr L by my GP. After a first failed embryo transfer Dr L did more tests and we discovered we had a marching DQ Alpha gene and that I had high levels on NK cells. So Dr L out me on a protocol to manage this immunilogical infertility and we did a frozen transfer with a genetically tested embryo in April. And guess what – the day after Mother’s Day I found out I was pregnant! There IS hope. Dr L is a genius and very thorough. Part of my treatment includes a fortnightky intralipid IV. Each time I’m in a room with 3 to 4 other girls, all with high NK cells and all pregnant through Dr L! There IS hope. Don’t give up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry that you have gotten some deflating news. I remember how I felt when I got that same news. But once you are treating those issues, it’s like starting again with everything the way it should be. Good luck with everything, I’m sure dr L will be able to help you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

