Our Biochemical Pregnancy (Early Miscarriage)

When my period arrived 2 days late on Thursday 19th September I simply assumed that the reason it had been late was because our latest IVF cycle was a stimulated cycle and the injections had messed around with my hormones. 

It took me as a complete shock on Friday when my fertility nurse called to advise that the blood test I had completed earlier that day was not entirely negative…. 

For a viable pregnancy , my HCG level would be expected to be above or around 200. With a HCG reading of 5.7 I didn’t hold high hopes but was shocked to learn that our embryo had in fact implanted and for a moment – I had been pregnant! Unfortunately I had suffered an early miscarriage – referred to in this case as a Biochemical Pregnancy. 
http://www.yourivfjourney.com/chemical-pregnancy-10-things-you-should-know/
A follow up blood test this morning has confirmed that my HCG level is now Nil – No Longer Pregnant . 

Whilst we are devastated to learn that we came so close to our dreams coming true, we are grateful that we are one step closer, maybe my body is slowly working out what to do, maybe the next one will take – maybe it won’t. Sometimes I wish I had a crystal ball so we could skip all the heartache.

There is nothing I/We could have done to make the embryo stick and if we were to consider all of the what ifs we would send ourselves crazy. 

I had thought I would take the news a lot harder, I have surprised myself with my positive attitude towards it. 

All I do know is that we are one step closer to achieving our baby dream.

Shakiera 

Our Biochemical Pregnancy (Early Miscarriage)

2 thoughts on “Our Biochemical Pregnancy (Early Miscarriage)

Leave a Reply

